Accessible Navigation.

UM Charter Day 2015

February 12, 2015

Charter Day festivities celebrate the anniversary of the University of Montana’s chartering by the Montana Legislature in 1893. Charter Day also honors the strong connections between the University community and the Missoula community.

An award ceremony is held each year to honor the University and its dedication to excellence by recognizing exemplary campus and community members.

The University of Montana celebrates its 122nd birthday on Thursday, February 12th with a noon-hour party and a 5:30 p.m. Charter Day awards ceremony and reception.

University committees are now accepting nominations for the 2015 Charter Day awards. Please visit the nomination page for information regarding individual awards and their nomination and selection procedures.

The birthday festivities are held each year to celebrate the anniversary of UM’s chartering by the Montana Legislature in 1893 and to honor the University and its dedication to excellence. Charter Day events are free and open to the public.

Charter Day will once again be held in conjunction with "Celebrate Academics!". These events offer an opportunity to UM students, faculty, staff and the general public to explore the excitement of teaching and learning at UM.  "Celebrate Academics & Charter Day" gives participants an opportunity to learn about the innovative ideas and work happening inside and outside the classroom by UM's world-class faculty members and students.

Missoula Mayor John Engen will present an official proclamation of University of Montana Day. A reception will follow the ceremony.

UM Provost Perry Brown will present the 2015 Charter Day awards.

2014 Charter Day Award Recipients

2014 Charter Day Awards Photos

Can't see the slideshow? Download Flash.